top of page

Week One in the Books!


Whew! It seems students and staff alike have all made it through the first week of school in one piece. The first week is always exhausting for everyone involved -- but it's quite nice to be back to a routine.

Well, there have been a few slight changes in my classroom. Physically it is much different. We went from having my desk in the front corner of the room to its new home in the back of the room (where I can see everything with more ease). The desks no longer take on the shape of a horseshoe but are in boring ol' rows. Blah. I really have to figure something out with that. But I think the new "reading corner" kind of makes up for the "meh"ness of the desks. The corner mimics something you might find in a cozy home. The bookshelf, pictures, lamp, and other decorations give it just the right amount of comfy.

As far as the content in my classroom - it has somewhat changed as well. This year I really did try to be more mindful of how busy our students are outside of these walls. I built their lessons each day to where they shouldn't have homework. The key word there is shouldn't. And let me remind you the definition of homework: work you take home. this doesn't mean they will never have work when they leave my classroom - oh no, they will more than likely still have some to take to their study halls and eighth hour - but it does mean that they shouldn't need to take anything home. This system will work well if students use all of their classtime wisely. :)

There it is. And there you have it.

That's all folks!

Mrs. Roeder


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page